Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin confirmed for 2015

The first official pictures of the 2015 Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin (above) and the legendary 1990s Honda XRV750 Africa Twin (below). Paris-Dakar Rally Raid types, rejoice!

Paris-Dakar Rally Raid aficionados, who have fond memories of the legendary Honda Africa Twin of the early-1990s, have reason to be happy. Honda/ have announced a successor to the 1990s XRV750 Africa Twin and the new bike – the Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin – should be Honda showrooms by the end of this year.

Launched in December 1989, the original Honda XRV750 Africa Twin was built in homage to the Honda NXR750, which won the Paris-Dakar Rally four times, in the 1980s. The XRV750 was powered by a 742cc V-twin that produced 61bhp and 63Nm of torque. This bike was produced from 1989 to 2003.

“The new CRF1000L Africa Twin remains true to all the attributes and abilities of the XRV750, while adding the benefits of everything Honda has learnt on- and off-road over the last decade, including Team HRC’s return to the Dakar [with the CRF450 Rally] in 2013,” says a press note from Honda. The only technical details that the Japanese company has revealed about the new bike is that it will be equipped with a special iteration of Honda’s dual-clutch automatic transmission (DCT), which has been specifically developed and optimised for off-road use.

“The all-new CRF1000L Africa Twin is set to redefine expectations of just what a large-capacity adventure motorcycle can and should be capable of, both on and off-road,” says the Honda press release. You’ve been warned, Aprilia, BMW, Yamaha and Moto Guzzi.

No comments:



2WD AC Schnitzer AJS Akrapovic all-wheel-drive Alpinestars AMG Aprilia Ariel Audi Avinton Bajaj Barry Sheene Benelli Bianchi Bimota BMW Bosch Brammo Brembo Britten BSA Buell Bultaco Cagiva Campagna Can-Am Carver Casey Stoner Caterham Chinese bikes Classics Concept Bike Confederate CRandS Custom-built Dainese Derbi Diesel Ducati Eddie Lawson EICMA 2008 EICMA 2009 EICMA 2012 EICMA 2013 EICMA 2014 EICMA 2015 EICMA 2016 Electric Ferrari Fischer flying machines Freddie Spencer Giacomo Agostini Gilera Harley-Davidson Helmets Henderson Hero Motocorp Hesketh Honda Horex Husqvarna Hybrid Hyosung Ilmor Indian Intermot 2012 Intermot 2014 Intermot 2016 Interviews Isle of Man TT Jawa Jay Leno Jeremy Burgess Kawasaki Kevin Schwantz KTM Lamborghini Lambretta Laverda Lazareth Lotus Mahindra Malaguti Markus Hofmann McLaren Mercedes-Benz Mick Doohan Midual Millepercento Mission Motors Mondial Morbidelli Morgan Moriwaki Moto Guzzi Moto Morini Moto2 Moto3 MotoCzysz MotoGP MotoGP-2007 MotoGP-2008 MotoGP-2009 MotoGP-2010 Motorcycle Design Motus MTT MV Agusta MZ News Nissan Norton NSU Peraves Petronas Peugeot Photography Piaggio Porsche Quad Renard Renault Riding Impressions Roehr Ronax Ronin Rotary Royal Enfield Scooters Segway Shootouts Short Films Skills Specials stunt riding Supercharged Suter Suzuki Toyota Travel trike Triumph Turbo TVS Two-stroke Ural V10 V12 V4 V6 V8 Valentino Rossi Velocette Vespa Victory Vincent Volkswagen Voxan Vyrus Wakan Wayne Gardner Wayne Rainey Wunderlich Yamaha Yoshimura Zagato