Monday, January 03, 2011

Münch TTE-1.2: Son of the Mammut

Münch TTE-1.2 Münch TTE-1.2 Münch TTE-1.2 Münch TTE-1.2 Münch TTE-1.2 Münch TTE-1.2 Münch TTE-1.2 Münch TTE-1.2 Münch TTE-1.2
The Münch TTE-1.2 won the 2010 TTXGP world championship and the manufacturer's title in the 2010 FIM e-Power race series. They are now preparing for the 2011 season...

Those who’ve been following the electric bike racing scene would probably know that in 2010, a legendary German company won the 2010 TTXGP world championship and the manufacturer’s title in FIM’s newly set up e-Power series. That company is none other than Münch, which was established in the mid-1960s by one Friedel Münch, who went on to build the absolutely outrageous Mammut TTS-E and, later, along with Thomas Petsch, the equally outlandish Mammut 2000.

You can read about the old Münch Mammut here, but this story is about Münch’s comeback vehicle – the TTE-1.2 racebike. The old Mammut was a pretty radical machine for its time, and by eschewing the internal-combustion engine in favour of an electric motor, the TTE-1.2 follows in its footsteps. The TTE-1.2 is fitted with a lithium-ion battery pack that powers its three-phase synchronous motor, which produces 90kW (120 horsepower), which is sufficient to push the 220-kilo bike to a top speed of more than 200km/h. The TTE-1.2’s range, depending on how hard the bike is ridden, is between 40-150km.

Münch have engineered the bike to exacting standards and they’ve fitted top-spec components to ensure the bike delivers very high levels of performance on the track. The TTE’s Öhlins suspension, Brembo brakes and steel-aluminium spaceframe chassis (with 52/48 front/rear weight distribution) have all been extensively tested and optimised for high-speed performance.

The 40-year-old Matthias Himmelmann, the man who raced the Münch TTE-1.2 in the TTXGP and FIM’s e-Power series in 2010, is probably no Valentino Rossi. But he does having about 20 years of motorcycle racing experience. And he had some very capable people supporting his efforts on the track. In 2010, the Münch team consisted of Thomas Schuricht (automotive electrician), Marko Werner (automotive electrician and mechatronic engineer), Thomas Petsch (Friedel Münch’s erstwhile partner, hardcore motorcycle enthusiast, entrepreneur and owner of Münch Motorrad Technik GmbH), Ralf Ernst (handles administration, organisation, sales and marketing for Münch) and Stefan Stepputtis (finance). By winning the manufacturer’s title in the e-Power series, this small team was able to keep the Münch name alive.

Today, the TTE-1.2 is a pure racebike but with fast-paced developments in battery and electric motor technology, Münch just might be able to do a street-legal version of the TTE in the not-too-distant future. And then, in deference to the Mammut heritage, they’ll probably build an electric bike with a dozen lithium-ion batteries, six electric motors (with each motor producing at least 100bhp), two-wheel-drive, computer-controlled air-suspension and hubless wheels... :-)

Welcome back, Münch!

Munch Mammut Munch Mammut Munch Mammut Munch Mammut Munch Mammut Munch Mammut Munch Mammut Munch Mammut Munch Mammut Munch Mammut
For more on Friedel Münch and the old Münch Mammut, see here and here
Some Mammut pics: The Vintagent

No comments:



2WD AC Schnitzer AJS Akrapovic all-wheel-drive Alpinestars AMG Aprilia Ariel Audi Avinton Bajaj Barry Sheene Benelli Bianchi Bimota BMW Bosch Brammo Brembo Britten BSA Buell Bultaco Cagiva Campagna Can-Am Carver Casey Stoner Caterham Chinese bikes Classics Concept Bike Confederate CRandS Custom-built Dainese Derbi Diesel Ducati Eddie Lawson EICMA 2008 EICMA 2009 EICMA 2012 EICMA 2013 EICMA 2014 EICMA 2015 EICMA 2016 Electric Ferrari Fischer flying machines Freddie Spencer Giacomo Agostini Gilera Harley-Davidson Helmets Henderson Hero Motocorp Hesketh Honda Horex Husqvarna Hybrid Hyosung Ilmor Indian Intermot 2012 Intermot 2014 Intermot 2016 Interviews Isle of Man TT Jawa Jay Leno Jeremy Burgess Kawasaki Kevin Schwantz KTM Lamborghini Lambretta Laverda Lazareth Lotus Mahindra Malaguti Markus Hofmann McLaren Mercedes-Benz Mick Doohan Midual Millepercento Mission Motors Mondial Morbidelli Morgan Moriwaki Moto Guzzi Moto Morini Moto2 Moto3 MotoCzysz MotoGP MotoGP-2007 MotoGP-2008 MotoGP-2009 MotoGP-2010 Motorcycle Design Motus MTT MV Agusta MZ News Nissan Norton NSU Peraves Petronas Peugeot Photography Piaggio Porsche Quad Renard Renault Riding Impressions Roehr Ronax Ronin Rotary Royal Enfield Scooters Segway Shootouts Short Films Skills Specials stunt riding Supercharged Suter Suzuki Toyota Travel trike Triumph Turbo TVS Two-stroke Ural V10 V12 V4 V6 V8 Valentino Rossi Velocette Vespa Victory Vincent Volkswagen Voxan Vyrus Wakan Wayne Gardner Wayne Rainey Wunderlich Yamaha Yoshimura Zagato