Friday, January 29, 2010

IoM announces TT Zero, TTXGP sidelined again

TTXGP has been shafted once again, while the IoM sets up its own e-bike race series...

Last year, the FIM decided to set up its own electric bike race series (e-Power) and now Azhar Hussain’s TTXGP has been dealt another body blow – this time by the Isle of Man government. While Hussain’s outfit conducted the first zero-emissions electric bike race at the IoM in 2009, this year’s race – named TT Zero – will be promoted by the Isle of Man’s Department of Tourism and Leisure (DTL).

The TT Zero will be a part of the core IoM TT programme and will be open to riders who may also be competing in other TT classes. The one-lap race will be open to zero emissions electric motorcycles and will take place on Wednesday, the 9th of June this year.

As with other TT races, TT Zero will be run by ACU Events Ltd., in compliance with the latest FIM regulations. In addition to the usual prize money available to teams and riders, the Isle of Man Government has also created a £10,000 prize fund for the TT Zero race team that first records a 100mph (160.93km/h) lap around the 37.73-mile course. Last year, Team Agni’s Rob Barber recorded a fastest lap time of 25 minutes 53.5 seconds (87.434mph) in the clean emissions race.

‘We have enjoyed a very successful partnership with TTXGP Ltd., and I would like to take this opportunity to thank them for their hard work last year. We look forward to welcoming many of the electric bike teams and riders back to the Isle of Man in 2010 as well as to seeing new challengers pitting their wits against the Mountain Course,’ says IoM’s Tourism and Leisure Minister, Martyn Quayle.

It would be interesting to see if Azhar Hussain’s outfit will still return to the IoM to compete in the electric bikes race this year...

Race footage from the 2009 TTXGP race at the Isle of Man

No comments:



2WD AC Schnitzer AJS Akrapovic all-wheel-drive Alpinestars AMG Aprilia Ariel Audi Avinton Bajaj Barry Sheene Benelli Bianchi Bimota BMW Bosch Brammo Brembo Britten BSA Buell Bultaco Cagiva Campagna Can-Am Carver Casey Stoner Caterham Chinese bikes Classics Concept Bike Confederate CRandS Custom-built Dainese Derbi Diesel Ducati Eddie Lawson EICMA 2008 EICMA 2009 EICMA 2012 EICMA 2013 EICMA 2014 EICMA 2015 EICMA 2016 Electric Ferrari Fischer flying machines Freddie Spencer Giacomo Agostini Gilera Harley-Davidson Helmets Henderson Hero Motocorp Hesketh Honda Horex Husqvarna Hybrid Hyosung Ilmor Indian Intermot 2012 Intermot 2014 Intermot 2016 Interviews Isle of Man TT Jawa Jay Leno Jeremy Burgess Kawasaki Kevin Schwantz KTM Lamborghini Lambretta Laverda Lazareth Lotus Mahindra Malaguti Markus Hofmann McLaren Mercedes-Benz Mick Doohan Midual Millepercento Mission Motors Mondial Morbidelli Morgan Moriwaki Moto Guzzi Moto Morini Moto2 Moto3 MotoCzysz MotoGP MotoGP-2007 MotoGP-2008 MotoGP-2009 MotoGP-2010 Motorcycle Design Motus MTT MV Agusta MZ News Nissan Norton NSU Peraves Petronas Peugeot Photography Piaggio Porsche Quad Renard Renault Riding Impressions Roehr Ronax Ronin Rotary Royal Enfield Scooters Segway Shootouts Short Films Skills Specials stunt riding Supercharged Suter Suzuki Toyota Travel trike Triumph Turbo TVS Two-stroke Ural V10 V12 V4 V6 V8 Valentino Rossi Velocette Vespa Victory Vincent Volkswagen Voxan Vyrus Wakan Wayne Gardner Wayne Rainey Wunderlich Yamaha Yoshimura Zagato