Monday, May 26, 2008

89mpg Biodiesel Harley wins 2008 Green Grand Prix

It probably won't go very fast, but this biodiesel-powered Harley will do 89mpg...
Pic: Autoblog Green

Earlier this month, the Fourth Annual Green Grand Prix took place in Watkins Glen, in New York. And guess what won their miles-per-gallon competition? A biodiesel-powered Harley-Davidson!

In the Doris Bovee Memorial SCCA road rally, with 46 participants using ten fuel types, Bill Bolch’s biodiesel-powered, 1990-model Harley FX12P did an amazing 89mpg and came out on top. Competitors were using all kinds of fuel – natural gas, petrol-electric hybrids, solar power, hydrogen fuel cells and even wood!

For more details, visit the Green Grand Prix website here.

Also see:
Craig Vetter: Fuel efficiency champ...
Kawasaki KLR650-based diesel bikes for the US Army...
Die Moto: Biodiesel-powered motorcycle goes for landspeed record!
The US$140,000 Neander Turbodiesel...
KillaCycle: The world’s quickest electric motorcycle...
Lightning Motors’ Lithium battery-powered Yamaha R1

External links:
Daytona Bike Week picture gallery...

More of this absolutely amazing Ducati MH900e on Moto Caradisiac here
Pics: Moto Caradisiac

No comments:



2WD AC Schnitzer AJS Akrapovic all-wheel-drive Alpinestars AMG Aprilia Ariel Audi Avinton Bajaj Barry Sheene Benelli Bianchi Bimota BMW Bosch Brammo Brembo Britten BSA Buell Bultaco Cagiva Campagna Can-Am Carver Casey Stoner Caterham Chinese bikes Classics Concept Bike Confederate CRandS Custom-built Dainese Derbi Diesel Ducati Eddie Lawson EICMA 2008 EICMA 2009 EICMA 2012 EICMA 2013 EICMA 2014 EICMA 2015 EICMA 2016 Electric Ferrari Fischer flying machines Freddie Spencer Giacomo Agostini Gilera Harley-Davidson Helmets Henderson Hero Motocorp Hesketh Honda Horex Husqvarna Hybrid Hyosung Ilmor Indian Intermot 2012 Intermot 2014 Intermot 2016 Interviews Isle of Man TT Jawa Jay Leno Jeremy Burgess Kawasaki Kevin Schwantz KTM Lamborghini Lambretta Laverda Lazareth Lotus Mahindra Malaguti Markus Hofmann McLaren Mercedes-Benz Mick Doohan Midual Millepercento Mission Motors Mondial Morbidelli Morgan Moriwaki Moto Guzzi Moto Morini Moto2 Moto3 MotoCzysz MotoGP MotoGP-2007 MotoGP-2008 MotoGP-2009 MotoGP-2010 Motorcycle Design Motus MTT MV Agusta MZ News Nissan Norton NSU Peraves Petronas Peugeot Photography Piaggio Porsche Quad Renard Renault Riding Impressions Roehr Ronax Ronin Rotary Royal Enfield Scooters Segway Shootouts Short Films Skills Specials stunt riding Supercharged Suter Suzuki Toyota Travel trike Triumph Turbo TVS Two-stroke Ural V10 V12 V4 V6 V8 Valentino Rossi Velocette Vespa Victory Vincent Volkswagen Voxan Vyrus Wakan Wayne Gardner Wayne Rainey Wunderlich Yamaha Yoshimura Zagato