Monday, February 18, 2008

MotoGP: Stoner fastest in Jerez qualifying shootout, wins BMW Z4 M Roadster

It's last year's story all over again - one mega-fast Aussie, and two ex-world champs who just can't keep up with him!

Reigning MotoGP world champion, Casey Stoner has made it very clear that it won’t be easy – for The Doctor or for anyone else – to take his crown away from him this year. The young Aussie proved to be the fastest in a 40-minute qualifying session at Jerez, winning the BMW Z4 M Roadster that was up for grabs as the prize.

Stoner, who won all of 10 races last year on his way to winning the 2007 MotoGP world championship, set a best time of 1:49:263 at Jerez, in the rain. And even though track conditions improved later on, no other rider could beat Stoner’s time. In second place was Rossi, with a best time of 1:50:580, while Nicky Hayden was third-fastest, with a 1:50:785. Fiat Yamaha’s new rider for 2008, Jorge Lorenzo was in last place, with a best time of 1:53:292.

‘This is fantastic. Last year we did an amazing job in all the qualifying sessions during the season and I was able to take a car at the end of it, so to start out 2008 in the same way is great,’ said Stoner. ‘It was fun because it's a bit of competition, and not just because there was a car on the line. We could've been racing for a piece of bubblegum and everybody would've tried just as hard,’ said Hayden.

Also see:
HUGE collection of hi-res MotoGP wallpaper here and here
Sheene tribute: Chris Vermeulen-replica Suzuki GSX-R1000
Aprilia RS3 Cube: F1 tech in MotoGP?
Hardcore: The amazing MV Agusta F4 Veltro Pista...
Face off: The world's fastest bike vs the world's fastest man!
Wild rides: MotoGP vs Bullfighting!!

External links:
Aprilia Shiver 750 image gallery
Flickr: Women in motorcycling! ;-D

After two years of losing out to Hayden and then Stoner, can The Doctor really come back to win the MotoGP world championship this year? We hope he does!

No comments:



2WD AC Schnitzer AJS Akrapovic all-wheel-drive Alpinestars AMG Aprilia Ariel Audi Avinton Bajaj Barry Sheene Benelli Bianchi Bimota BMW Bosch Brammo Brembo Britten BSA Buell Bultaco Cagiva Campagna Can-Am Carver Casey Stoner Caterham Chinese bikes Classics Concept Bike Confederate CRandS Custom-built Dainese Derbi Diesel Ducati Eddie Lawson EICMA 2008 EICMA 2009 EICMA 2012 EICMA 2013 EICMA 2014 EICMA 2015 EICMA 2016 Electric Ferrari Fischer flying machines Freddie Spencer Giacomo Agostini Gilera Harley-Davidson Helmets Henderson Hero Motocorp Hesketh Honda Horex Husqvarna Hybrid Hyosung Ilmor Indian Intermot 2012 Intermot 2014 Intermot 2016 Interviews Isle of Man TT Jawa Jay Leno Jeremy Burgess Kawasaki Kevin Schwantz KTM Lamborghini Lambretta Laverda Lazareth Lotus Mahindra Malaguti Markus Hofmann McLaren Mercedes-Benz Mick Doohan Midual Millepercento Mission Motors Mondial Morbidelli Morgan Moriwaki Moto Guzzi Moto Morini Moto2 Moto3 MotoCzysz MotoGP MotoGP-2007 MotoGP-2008 MotoGP-2009 MotoGP-2010 Motorcycle Design Motus MTT MV Agusta MZ News Nissan Norton NSU Peraves Petronas Peugeot Photography Piaggio Porsche Quad Renard Renault Riding Impressions Roehr Ronax Ronin Rotary Royal Enfield Scooters Segway Shootouts Short Films Skills Specials stunt riding Supercharged Suter Suzuki Toyota Travel trike Triumph Turbo TVS Two-stroke Ural V10 V12 V4 V6 V8 Valentino Rossi Velocette Vespa Victory Vincent Volkswagen Voxan Vyrus Wakan Wayne Gardner Wayne Rainey Wunderlich Yamaha Yoshimura Zagato