Tuesday, June 05, 2007

John McGuinness wins 100th Anniversary Isle of Man TT Superbike race

McGuiness won the six-lap Superbike race aboard his Honda CBR1000RR, at an average speed of around 200.88km/h!

HM Plant Honda rider, John McGuinness has made history. Riding his Honda CBR1000RR, the 34-year-old won the six-lap Superbike race at the 100th Isle of Man TT event yesterday. This was McGuinness’ twelfth victory on the IoM, and Honda’s 131st win there!

Honda riders occupied the top six spots in this race, and McGuinness won with an average speed of 200.88km/h. He says, ‘I got my head down and went for it, riding as hard as I could, though being a bit careful in the damp bits. I had a few moments on the first lap including a big slide at the thirteenth milestone when the back end of the bike came round on me, but I kept it going.’

'I'm not getting any younger and they made me work for this one,' says McGuiness...

So how does Mr McGuinness feel after winning the 100th Isle of Man TT Superbike race? ‘It's unbelievable. I'm not getting any younger and they made me work for this one. I'd trained hard all winter to be ready for them and it is well worth it all. I had to ride really hard and gave it everything. To win this race is a tremendous feeling. It will go do in the history books as the first win in the Centenary event and that means an awful lot for me and for Honda – this victory is a testament to their preparation.’

McGuinness is now in third spot in the list of all time TT winners, behind Joey Dunlop (26 wins) and Mike Hailwood (14 wins).

That's Rem Fowler with his Norton, TT winner back in 1907!

2007 Bennetts Superbike Isle of Man TT Race Results

1. John McGuinness HM Plant Honda

2. Guy Martin Hydrex Honda

3. Ian Hutchinson HM Plant Honda

4. Martin Finnegan Alpha Boilers Honda

5. Ian Lougher Stobart Honda

More details on the Isle of Man website here. Here’s a pre-race interview with the John McGuiness, and you can download this podcast where he speaks about the race.

2007 Isle of Man TT, pre-race video

Also see:
Ducati 1098 wins Istituto Europeo di Design's beauty award
Madness: Helicopters vs Superbikes!
Air-powered engines for motorcycles in the near future?
Must read: 50 street survival tips
Ilmor to return to MotoGP in 2008

No comments:



2WD AC Schnitzer AJS Akrapovic all-wheel-drive Alpinestars AMG Aprilia Ariel Audi Avinton Bajaj Barry Sheene Benelli Bianchi Bimota BMW Bosch Brammo Brembo Britten BSA Buell Bultaco Cagiva Campagna Can-Am Carver Casey Stoner Caterham Chinese bikes Classics Concept Bike Confederate CRandS Custom-built Dainese Derbi Diesel Ducati Eddie Lawson EICMA 2008 EICMA 2009 EICMA 2012 EICMA 2013 EICMA 2014 EICMA 2015 EICMA 2016 Electric Ferrari Fischer flying machines Freddie Spencer Giacomo Agostini Gilera Harley-Davidson Helmets Henderson Hero Motocorp Hesketh Honda Horex Husqvarna Hybrid Hyosung Ilmor Indian Intermot 2012 Intermot 2014 Intermot 2016 Interviews Isle of Man TT Jawa Jay Leno Jeremy Burgess Kawasaki Kevin Schwantz KTM Lamborghini Lambretta Laverda Lazareth Lotus Mahindra Malaguti Markus Hofmann McLaren Mercedes-Benz Mick Doohan Midual Millepercento Mission Motors Mondial Morbidelli Morgan Moriwaki Moto Guzzi Moto Morini Moto2 Moto3 MotoCzysz MotoGP MotoGP-2007 MotoGP-2008 MotoGP-2009 MotoGP-2010 Motorcycle Design Motus MTT MV Agusta MZ News Nissan Norton NSU Peraves Petronas Peugeot Photography Piaggio Porsche Quad Renard Renault Riding Impressions Roehr Ronax Ronin Rotary Royal Enfield Scooters Segway Shootouts Short Films Skills Specials stunt riding Supercharged Suter Suzuki Toyota Travel trike Triumph Turbo TVS Two-stroke Ural V10 V12 V4 V6 V8 Valentino Rossi Velocette Vespa Victory Vincent Volkswagen Voxan Vyrus Wakan Wayne Gardner Wayne Rainey Wunderlich Yamaha Yoshimura Zagato