Sunday, May 20, 2007

Pat Hennen inducted into the Motorcycle Hall of Fame

Suzuki rider Pat Hennen in action on his Suzuki RG500

Twelve new members have been selected this year, for induction into The Motorcycle Hall of Fame. And of those twelve is Pat Hennen, the first American ever to win a 500cc motorcycle grand prix – the 1976 Finnish GP. Hennen took third place in the 1976 500cc world championship, behind Barry Sheene, who took first place, and Teuvo Lansivuori, who finished second.

A very fast rider who was not afraid of taking risks, Hennen seemed to be destined for great things, but his career ended in 1978, when he had a massive crash at the Isle of Man TT, at a speed of around 250km/h. Hennen suffered serious head injuries in that crash and never recovered fully.

For more details, visit The Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum website here

Also see:
Twenty years of the Suzuki GSX-R
Libero Liberati: 500cc motorcycle GP racing world champ in 1957
1993 500cc world champ, Kevin Schwantz speaks
After six years, Suzuki take a MotoGP win!
Max Biaggi: Staying alive...
Retro SBK's Freddie Spencer tribute

No comments:



2WD AC Schnitzer AJS Akrapovic all-wheel-drive Alpinestars AMG Aprilia Ariel Audi Avinton Bajaj Barry Sheene Benelli Bianchi Bimota BMW Bosch Brammo Brembo Britten BSA Buell Bultaco Cagiva Campagna Can-Am Carver Casey Stoner Caterham Chinese bikes Classics Concept Bike Confederate CRandS Custom-built Dainese Derbi Diesel Ducati Eddie Lawson EICMA 2008 EICMA 2009 EICMA 2012 EICMA 2013 EICMA 2014 EICMA 2015 EICMA 2016 Electric Ferrari Fischer flying machines Freddie Spencer Giacomo Agostini Gilera Harley-Davidson Helmets Henderson Hero Motocorp Hesketh Honda Horex Husqvarna Hybrid Hyosung Ilmor Indian Intermot 2012 Intermot 2014 Intermot 2016 Interviews Isle of Man TT Jawa Jay Leno Jeremy Burgess Kawasaki Kevin Schwantz KTM Lamborghini Lambretta Laverda Lazareth Lotus Mahindra Malaguti Markus Hofmann McLaren Mercedes-Benz Mick Doohan Midual Millepercento Mission Motors Mondial Morbidelli Morgan Moriwaki Moto Guzzi Moto Morini Moto2 Moto3 MotoCzysz MotoGP MotoGP-2007 MotoGP-2008 MotoGP-2009 MotoGP-2010 Motorcycle Design Motus MTT MV Agusta MZ News Nissan Norton NSU Peraves Petronas Peugeot Photography Piaggio Porsche Quad Renard Renault Riding Impressions Roehr Ronax Ronin Rotary Royal Enfield Scooters Segway Shootouts Short Films Skills Specials stunt riding Supercharged Suter Suzuki Toyota Travel trike Triumph Turbo TVS Two-stroke Ural V10 V12 V4 V6 V8 Valentino Rossi Velocette Vespa Victory Vincent Volkswagen Voxan Vyrus Wakan Wayne Gardner Wayne Rainey Wunderlich Yamaha Yoshimura Zagato