Wednesday, May 02, 2007

MV Agusta and Carl Fogarty get together for 2008 World Superbikes!

Fogarty, one of the most successful riders ever in world superbikes, joins forces with MV Agusta for 2008

Carl Fogarty is, it seems, finally done with Petronas and their ill-fated racing project. For the 2008 World Superbikes season, Fogarty will run a factory-supported team with MV Agusta. Carl Fogarty, who won four World Superbikes titles in the 1990s, says, ‘This is a very exciting opportunity. Claudio shares my desire for success and it will be great to work with him again. My team is now committed to finding sponsorship for the next year in order to start preparations for the 2008 season as soon as possible.’

Fogarty and Castiglioni have worked together earlier, when Fogarty won World Superbikes titles in 1994 and 1995 with Ducati, which was owned by Castiglioni at that time. (Foggy, of course, also won another two World Superbikes titles with Ducati – in 1998 and 1999.)

Foggy won four WSB world championships in the 1990s, with Ducati

Castiglioni, who’s now President at MV Agusta, says ‘We see this as a long-term relationship. When MV Agusta returns to World Championship competition, it must be with the ability to be competitive from the very first race, and to challenge for victory throughout the season. Everyone was impressed by the professionalism and dedication of Fogarty’s team during their five years with Petronas and we are confident they can deliver the results we expect.’

Foggy’s team will be racing the 2008 MV Agusta F4 R 312, which is currently the world’s fastest production bike. Foggy will also ride this bike during a Parade of Champions on the 8th of June this year, as part of the 100th anniversary celebrations of the Isle of Man TT.

Also see:
Limited edition MV Agusta F4 CC
Limited edition Cagiva Mito 125 Black
New bikes from Aprilia!
Craig Jones: Stop this!
Faster and faster: The pros tell you how

No comments:



2WD AC Schnitzer AJS Akrapovic all-wheel-drive Alpinestars AMG Aprilia Ariel Audi Avinton Bajaj Barry Sheene Benelli Bianchi Bimota BMW Bosch Brammo Brembo Britten BSA Buell Bultaco Cagiva Campagna Can-Am Carver Casey Stoner Caterham Chinese bikes Classics Concept Bike Confederate CRandS Custom-built Dainese Derbi Diesel Ducati Eddie Lawson EICMA 2008 EICMA 2009 EICMA 2012 EICMA 2013 EICMA 2014 EICMA 2015 EICMA 2016 Electric Ferrari Fischer flying machines Freddie Spencer Giacomo Agostini Gilera Harley-Davidson Helmets Henderson Hero Motocorp Hesketh Honda Horex Husqvarna Hybrid Hyosung Ilmor Indian Intermot 2012 Intermot 2014 Intermot 2016 Interviews Isle of Man TT Jawa Jay Leno Jeremy Burgess Kawasaki Kevin Schwantz KTM Lamborghini Lambretta Laverda Lazareth Lotus Mahindra Malaguti Markus Hofmann McLaren Mercedes-Benz Mick Doohan Midual Millepercento Mission Motors Mondial Morbidelli Morgan Moriwaki Moto Guzzi Moto Morini Moto2 Moto3 MotoCzysz MotoGP MotoGP-2007 MotoGP-2008 MotoGP-2009 MotoGP-2010 Motorcycle Design Motus MTT MV Agusta MZ News Nissan Norton NSU Peraves Petronas Peugeot Photography Piaggio Porsche Quad Renard Renault Riding Impressions Roehr Ronax Ronin Rotary Royal Enfield Scooters Segway Shootouts Short Films Skills Specials stunt riding Supercharged Suter Suzuki Toyota Travel trike Triumph Turbo TVS Two-stroke Ural V10 V12 V4 V6 V8 Valentino Rossi Velocette Vespa Victory Vincent Volkswagen Voxan Vyrus Wakan Wayne Gardner Wayne Rainey Wunderlich Yamaha Yoshimura Zagato