Friday, December 01, 2006

Triumph Daytona 675 wins International Bike of the Year

Yeah, the Daytona 675 is the International Bike of the Year

The Triumph Daytona 675 has won the International Bike of the Year award. Fifteen of the world’s leading motorcycle magazines voted in the IBOTY poll, where the Triumph Daytona 675 got 26 votes, followed by the Yamaha YZF R6 at 11 votes and the Kawasaki ZZR1400 at 9 votes.

Earlier this year, the Daytona 675 had also won the Supersport class in the world’s biggest sportsbike shootout – the Masterbike – with 27 votes, as opposed to only 7 votes which went to the Suzuki GSX-R750, which came in second place. Looks like Triumph are on to a good thing with the 675…

Update (22.02.2007): According to some news articles on websites and in some magazines, Triumph are all set to launch a new Street Triple 675. This naked streetfighter will take styling cues from Triumph's own Speed Triple, but will use the Daytona 675's engine, chassis and suspension components. Hope this gets confirmed in the next few days!

Also see:
2007 Triumph Tiger
Triumph Speed Triple
Daytona 675 vs GSX-R750!

Triumph Daytona 675 road test video

No comments:



2WD AC Schnitzer AJS Akrapovic all-wheel-drive Alpinestars AMG Aprilia Ariel Audi Avinton Bajaj Barry Sheene Benelli Bianchi Bimota BMW Bosch Brammo Brembo Britten BSA Buell Bultaco Cagiva Campagna Can-Am Carver Casey Stoner Caterham Chinese bikes Classics Concept Bike Confederate CRandS Custom-built Dainese Derbi Diesel Ducati Eddie Lawson EICMA 2008 EICMA 2009 EICMA 2012 EICMA 2013 EICMA 2014 EICMA 2015 EICMA 2016 Electric Ferrari Fischer flying machines Freddie Spencer Giacomo Agostini Gilera Harley-Davidson Helmets Henderson Hero Motocorp Hesketh Honda Horex Husqvarna Hybrid Hyosung Ilmor Indian Intermot 2012 Intermot 2014 Intermot 2016 Interviews Isle of Man TT Jawa Jay Leno Jeremy Burgess Kawasaki Kevin Schwantz KTM Lamborghini Lambretta Laverda Lazareth Lotus Mahindra Malaguti Markus Hofmann McLaren Mercedes-Benz Mick Doohan Midual Millepercento Mission Motors Mondial Morbidelli Morgan Moriwaki Moto Guzzi Moto Morini Moto2 Moto3 MotoCzysz MotoGP MotoGP-2007 MotoGP-2008 MotoGP-2009 MotoGP-2010 Motorcycle Design Motus MTT MV Agusta MZ News Nissan Norton NSU Peraves Petronas Peugeot Photography Piaggio Porsche Quad Renard Renault Riding Impressions Roehr Ronax Ronin Rotary Royal Enfield Scooters Segway Shootouts Short Films Skills Specials stunt riding Supercharged Suter Suzuki Toyota Travel trike Triumph Turbo TVS Two-stroke Ural V10 V12 V4 V6 V8 Valentino Rossi Velocette Vespa Victory Vincent Volkswagen Voxan Vyrus Wakan Wayne Gardner Wayne Rainey Wunderlich Yamaha Yoshimura Zagato