Tuesday, September 05, 2006

Rocky Robinson and the ACK Attack do 547km/h

Twin Hayabusa engines, 900 horsepower, 547km/h...

Rocky Robinson has set a new motorcycle land speed world record. Riding his Team Top-1 ACK Attack streamliner at the Bonneville Salt Flats, he made an initial pass at 550.4km/h and a return pass of 544km/h, resulting in the new record (average) speed of 547km/h. The last record, which stood for 16 years, was set by Dave Campos in 1990 – at 515.2km/h.

During the Bonneville Speed Week this year, riders had a 17.6km course to work with, compared with only 8km last year. This provided an opportunity to mega-powerful machines like the ACK Attack, which incidentally is powered by twin Suzuki Hayabusa engines – producing a total of more than 900 horsepower, to really strut their stuff.

Here’s a list of who’s been going how fast (on two wheels) over the years:

1937 Ernst Henne BMW 500 274.494km/h

1951 William Herz NSU 500 289.681km/h

1955 Russell Wright Vincent 1000 297.728km/h

1956 Johnny Allen Triumph 650 311.778km/h

1956 William Herz NSU 500 338.992km/h

1956 Johnny Allen Triumph 650 345.426km/h

1962 Bill Johnson Triumph 650 361.410km/h

1966 Bob Leppan Triumph 650 395.362km/h

1970 Don Vesco Yamaha 350 405.425km/h

1970 Cal Rayborn Harley-Davidson 427.267km/h

1975 Don Vesco Yamaha 700 487.084km/h

1978 Don Vesco Kawasaki 1000 512.733km/h

1990 Dave Campos Harley-Davidson 518.450km/h

No comments:



2WD AC Schnitzer AJS Akrapovic all-wheel-drive Alpinestars AMG Aprilia Ariel Audi Avinton Bajaj Barry Sheene Benelli Bianchi Bimota BMW Bosch Brammo Brembo Britten BSA Buell Bultaco Cagiva Campagna Can-Am Carver Casey Stoner Caterham Chinese bikes Classics Concept Bike Confederate CRandS Custom-built Dainese Derbi Diesel Ducati Eddie Lawson EICMA 2008 EICMA 2009 EICMA 2012 EICMA 2013 EICMA 2014 EICMA 2015 EICMA 2016 Electric Ferrari Fischer flying machines Freddie Spencer Giacomo Agostini Gilera Harley-Davidson Helmets Henderson Hero Motocorp Hesketh Honda Horex Husqvarna Hybrid Hyosung Ilmor Indian Intermot 2012 Intermot 2014 Intermot 2016 Interviews Isle of Man TT Jawa Jay Leno Jeremy Burgess Kawasaki Kevin Schwantz KTM Lamborghini Lambretta Laverda Lazareth Lotus Mahindra Malaguti Markus Hofmann McLaren Mercedes-Benz Mick Doohan Midual Millepercento Mission Motors Mondial Morbidelli Morgan Moriwaki Moto Guzzi Moto Morini Moto2 Moto3 MotoCzysz MotoGP MotoGP-2007 MotoGP-2008 MotoGP-2009 MotoGP-2010 Motorcycle Design Motus MTT MV Agusta MZ News Nissan Norton NSU Peraves Petronas Peugeot Photography Piaggio Porsche Quad Renard Renault Riding Impressions Roehr Ronax Ronin Rotary Royal Enfield Scooters Segway Shootouts Short Films Skills Specials stunt riding Supercharged Suter Suzuki Toyota Travel trike Triumph Turbo TVS Two-stroke Ural V10 V12 V4 V6 V8 Valentino Rossi Velocette Vespa Victory Vincent Volkswagen Voxan Vyrus Wakan Wayne Gardner Wayne Rainey Wunderlich Yamaha Yoshimura Zagato